My Skincare Savior

My Skincare Savior

I am someone who has always had issues with their skin. I have psoriasis, dry skin, spots, discoloration, and I even had a bout with rosacea. This product is the one product that when my skin is having a serious freak-out, I know it will calm it down.

Cane and Austin Retexturizing Pads with 10% Glycolic Acid

Image

I heard about these pads through the YouTube/blogging world and was initially scared to try them. I have sensitive skin, and at the time, was dealing with rosacea and seriously chapped skin. This product is a glycolic chemical exfoliating treatment, that you are meant to use twice daily to reduce redness and fine lines, and increase skin firmness, texture, and tone.

The ingredients are listed on their website and are:

Water(Aqua), Glycolic Acid, Ammonium Hydroxide, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Water, Polysorbate-20, Phospholipids, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Ubiquinone, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Benzoate, Menthol, Acetone, Imidazolidinyl Urea.

Holy cow! The only ingredients that I recognized in there are Water, Witch Hazel, Menthol, and Acetone. When I looked at the ingredients and heard the term “Glycolic Acid” I immediately thought “Acid? On my face? My red and sensitive face?” So, I did some research.

Turns out, glycolic acid is derived from sugar! That’s not scary at all. Cane + Austin get their glycolic acid specifically from cane sugar. Hence the name Cane + Austin.  How simple! The main purpose of glycolic acid is to exfoliate your skin. By exfoliating your skin, you remove the outermost skin layer and allow the fresh layer of skin to make its debut to the world. Exfoliating has many benefits, some of which include, unclogging pores, reducing acne outbreaks and reducing hyperpigmentation. However, make sure you always remember two very important rules with exfoliating.

  1. Always moisturize after you exfoliate. Exfoliating your skin, while extremely beneficial, is a drying process.
  2. Don’t over exfoliate! This is one of those times where you can have too much of a good thing.

So, now that we’ve gotten the scary scientific talk out of the way, why do I call this product my skin savior?

Cane + Austin recommend using this product twice a day; once in the morning, and once at night. Because I have sensitive skin, I only use this product once a day. I also do not use it every day. I will often use it every day for about a week, or maybe two, and then give my skin a break. I then pick it back up when I notice that my skin is not happy with me. When I am breaking out, or my skin is starting to become red, that is the time that I know it is time to break out the pads.

Recently, I had a major breakout with both pimples and psoriasis. These are the times where I start my Cane + Austin regimen. After washing my face at night, I take one pad and wipe it all over my face and onto my neck. These little pads hold a lot of product. After allowing the treatment to sink into my skin for a minute I follow up with the Estee Lauder Re-Nutriv Softening Lotion and my heavy duty moisturizer. When I wake up in the morning, my face looks healthier and more awake. It’s wonderful!

The only downside to these pads is the price. They are not cheap. The 60 pad container is $60.00. However, they do offer a 25 individually packaged pad box for $30. The first two times that I purchased these pads, I went with the $30 option. The first time around I did so because I didn’t want to have 60 pads sitting around if my skin did not like them. The second time I purchased the $30 pack was because I wasn’t ready to commit to the $60 purchase. The individualized pads are wonderful for traveling. Air travel is never good for anyone’s skin, so it is always handy to have a product that packs a punch to get your skin back into line.

Image

Cane + Austin also offer an Acne Treatment Pad which contains 5% glycolic acid and 2% salicylic acid

Have you ever used a chemical exfoliating treatment? If so, which one do you use and what do you think?

Leave a Reply

